(Photo Credits: AlexLMX from Shutterstock)

Slovenia officially legalized same-sex marriage earlier this week, October 4, after the country’s Parliament passed an amendment, with 48 MPs in favor, 29 against, and one abstained. Apart from the right to marry, the landmark law will also give same-sex couples the right to adopt children. This makes Slovenia the first Eastern European country to do so.

State Secretary Simon Maljevac, who presented the amendment to his colleagues, said: “With these changes, we are recognizing the rights of same-sex couples that they should have had for a long time.”

He added, “Slovenia is finally joining a number of countries in Europe and around the world that have already granted equal rights to heterosexual and same-sex couples.”

Way back in July, Slovenia’s highest court ruled that the country’s “law defining marriage as only for a man and a woman discriminates against same-sex couples.” Further, the ruling “stipulated that marriage is a life union of two people regardless of gender. Read more here.

Slovenia is reportedly the first former communist country to pass marriage equality laws in Europe, as same-sex marriage or even civil unions remain banned in most of its neighboring countries. Read the story in full here.

Last month, Cuba has also approved same-sex marriage and adoption through a referendum.

Other countries where same-sex marriage is currently legal included: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. Aside from Chile, other Latin American nations that have recognized same-sex marriages included Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Uruguay, and Costa Rica.

3.5 11 votes
Article Rating